Louise Glück wins Nobel Prize for Literature

Louise Gluck

This year’s Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to the US poet Louise Glück.

Glück was recognized for the “austere beauty” of her work, said the Swedish Academy, which oversees the prestigious award.

Amongst the critics were PEN America who said it was “dumbfounded by the selection of a writer who has used his public voice to undercut historical truth”, in a statement from its president, Jennifer Egan.

The prize is given to the person who has “produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction”.

Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke
Olga Tokarczuk won for 2018 and Peter Handke was 2019’s winner

Normally, winners receive their Nobel from King Carl XVI Gustaf at a formal ceremony in Stockholm on 10 December, but the pandemic means it has been replaced with a televised ceremony showing the laureates receiving their awards in their home countries.

Nobel Prize for Literature
The winners receive a medal, a diploma and 10m Swedish kronor (£873,270) in prize money

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s